Get involved and share your ideas

Our goal is to simplify and streamline the law as much as possible. We want a law that is outcome-focused, technology-neutral, easy to comply with and ensures heavy vehicles operate safely on our roads.

We want to hear from everyone affected by the law. Submit your ideas, see what others are saying and vote on ideas.

What are your ideas for improving the Heavy Vehicle National Law?

10 December, 2019

PhilAltieri says:

“Change HVNL to include mandated breaks after 2 hrs driving for Bus Drivers. As per recent new Law in New Zealand. Addressing Fatigue, Safety”

6 December, 2019

Ownerdriver says:

“23 meter GML road train should be aloud to go anywhere on a 23 meter route.. Without time consuming paperwork”

6 December, 2019

Ownerdriver says:

“Vehicles should be able to run on length network, rather then a specific combination network. Without the trouble of permits.”

1 December, 2019

RuralOperator says:

“Remove concessional rego ie Primary Producer rego. They pay little to no rego and in a lot of cases operate a business.”

19 November, 2019

Robd says:

“All trucks to mandatory do a NTC online pre-operation inspection, this inspection would be review if and when the truck is intercepted. ”

19 November, 2019

Robd says:

“All trucks greater than 4500GVM must not travel in the overtake lane unless they are over taking another vehicle”

17 November, 2019

Gizmo says:

“With all the various agency inspectors now interrupting a trip, once a vehicle is intercepted, a 24hr clearance card should be issued. ”

3 November, 2019

mackinlaytransport says:

“Under COR make hirers accountable for paying sustainable rates. Make it a breach of HVNL to under-pay and/or stretch out payment terms.”

3 November, 2019

mackinlaytransport says:

“Accept that Australia is a big place and that one size does not fit all when it comes to HVNL.”

3 November, 2019

mackinlaytransport says:

“As the President of the National Road Freighters Association I support the association's position on fatigue management.”

30 October, 2019

farthid says:

“Maintenance providers are not currently part of the Chain although maintenance is part of HVNL this is a massive oversight”

29 October, 2019

Bvtrucking says:

“14 Day Mandatory Payments. Standardise the rules Australia Wide.. Length requirements to apply to trailers only.”